„…forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead…“

Anthony Norris Groves (1795 – 1853) – A Practical Lesson from His Life and Ministry

(DEUTSCH hier!)

…During the voyage Anthony Groves wrote notes in his Bible, in spaces not already filled by the comments and annotations painstakingly gathered during past years. Day by day he collected subjects and references for future study and for booklets he wished to compose on various topics. He had „just finished all the precepts of the New Testament“ and he „had all the prophecies marked and divided.“

Apart from his little carpet, his old Bible was all he possessed:

„It was indeed almost the only treasure I desired to call my own, and it had been my companion and comfort in many dark and dreary days.“

He brought the Bible up on deck to read with Anundoo and the orphan boy. The sails clattered, the ship lurched, Groves grabbed the boy to stop him from falling, and the Bible was knocked out of his hand.

„Yet I know the Lord is good, even in this, and would have me dig and dig again, for more and still richer treasures than I have yet found… It is so strange: I dreamed about a fortnight ago that I dropped my Bible from the very place where I lost it today… Well, it is gone and I think I shall never forget the feeling I had when it fell and I saw it floating away rapidly behind us.“

(Dann, R.B. – Father of Faith Missions: The Life and Times of Anthony Norris Groves; p. 224f.)

More of and about Anthony N. Groves:

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Christliche Gegenkultur & Relevanz, Mission & Gemeinde abgelegt und mit , , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.